Main Menu: Configuration -> Preferences
The Preferences window is divided into three tabs.
The options in this tab define the Font Size and Name for messages as well as display preference: HTML or Plain Text.
Also the message editor default option can be set to use Plain Text or formatted (HTML) text. Notice that when replying to messages, the editor will use Plain Text or Formatted text depending on the message format. By default messages will be answered using the same format that they have, ignoring the default setting, which will only apply to new messages.
The HTML Font Name and Size will be used for HTML messages that don't have any font style and for the Message Editor. The Text Font Name and Size will be used for Text Only messages and to show the messages Source Text.
Check Spam: If this option is checked, incoming messages will be checked for spam and detected spam will be moved automatically to the spam folder and online copies of it will be deleted.
Reset button. Reset Spam and Ham Dictionaries to their original state. Notice that you can as well restore a previous backup to restore the Spam/Ham Dictionaries to their previous state.
Mark as Spam Messages with (these rules can be turned off or on):
Only a single line of text with a link.
Non western text in Subject or From fields.
Spam Dictionary Max. Size: Each time you flag a message as SPAM or as Not Spam, this information is saved in a Spam Dictionary file (there are two, one for SPAM and other for Not Spam). To prevent such files from growing too large they have a size limit. When the dictionary reaches its maximum size, new data can be added, but to make room, older data is deleted from the dictionary.
Since SPAM sales pitches change constantly, deleting all data not always is bad. The default maximum size is 3000 thousand characters.
Delete Spam after: Spam stored in the Spam folder will be deleted after the specified number of days pass.
Delete Trash Files after: Messages in the Trash folder will be deleted after the specified number of days pass.
Keep Local Folders Expanded: If checked, Local Folders->Archive will remain expanded after you collapse all email folders with the button, located in the pane. That same folder also will be automatically expanded when you start Bersoft Private Mail.
The old Spam and Trash files are deleted just before closing down the program. If the program runs continuously without ever stopping, the Spam and Trash files never will be deleted automatically.
Connection Timeout: The default is 5000 milliseconds. If you have a fast Internet connection you should reduce this value to 2000 milliseconds or less.
Read IMAP folders every time the account is accessed. The first time an IMAP folder is accessed (after starting BPM), its headers are downloaded, and any new messages found there will be downloaded as well. The second time that the same folder is accessed, Bersoft Private Mail (BPM) can do two different things:
Check if there are new messages online, and download them in such case or
Do not check for new messages and display the messages that were downloaded before right away, without any delay.
if "Read IMAP folders every time the account is accessed" is checked BPM will check for new messages every time the folder is accessed, otherwise it will check only the first time.
If the users double click on an IMAP folder, all online messages in that folder will be downloaded, both new messages and older messages, that will be downloaded again.
Save Replies with the Original Message: When replying to or forwarding messages stored locally (but not placed in the Trash, Queue, Drafts, Spam or Global Inbox folders), the outcoming messages will be saved in the same folder as the original message instead in the Sent folder.
Close Down when Entering power saving mode: When the computer hibernates or sleeps Bersoft Private Mail will close down automatically.
Define the file extension for messages that are exported, the default one is .eml.
Close to tray. If checked, Bersoft Private Mail will run in the Windows Tray when closed, unless it is closed with the File->Exit menu command.
If Check Email Automatically when minimized to the System Tray is checked BPM will check for new messages in all active email accounts periodically.
You can define the time lapse between checks in minutes.
If Play Sound on New Email is checked BPM will play the sound file named "youHaveGotEmail.wav", which is placed inside BPM Main Folder, unless you have selected a different WAV audio file.
A notification will be shown whenever new message(s) arrive, either in the Windows Tray or centered in the screen.
See also Auto Check Email.
Ask for non encrypted text in encrypted messages. BPM always adds a non encrypted body text to encrypted messages. If this option is unchecked the default text ("You need to use Bersoft Private Mail and have the proper RSA Private Key to read this message") will be used. Otherwise BPM will ask you to confirm the text to be used every time an encrypted message is sent out.
Encrypted messages options. Either the Subject and/or Sender can be hidden. By default encrypted messages have its body (the message text) and attachments encrypted, but if the options to hide the Subject or Sender are checked in Preferences, they will be encrypted as well, and will not be visible until the message is decrypted.
The Subject and Sender are part of the headers of the message. To send messages without problems the headers cannot be encrypted nor hidden. Therefore it is necessary to replace any encrypted header field with false texts. The real (encrypted) Subject and Sender will be visible only after decrypting the message; without having the Private Key to decrypt the message, only the false Subject/Sender will be displayed.
If you check the options Hide the Subject with a false one and/or Hide the Sender with a false one, the real Subject and/or Sender will be encrypted and the falses will be use. If the options to hide the Subject or Sender are selected, but the false ones are left blank, BPM will ask for the false Subject/Sender before sending any encrypted message.